Welcome to Incels.is - Involuntary Celibate Forum

Welcome! This is a forum for involuntary celibates: people who lack a significant other. Are you lonely and wish you had someone in your life? You're not alone! Join our forum and talk to people just like you.

Cope How do I learn C++?

TheNEET

TheNEET

mentally crippled by sleepoverless teen years
★★★★★
I put together some spaghetti code in Python sometimes and I've played around with C in my teens, so I have the general idea of programming as well as C-like syntax
I've tried using the book "Programming: Principles and Practice Using C++" but it seems to be aimed at total newbies and it's not even that good at it
I thought about just going through https://learnxinyminutes.com/docs/c++/ and looking up stuff as I go (which is pretty much how I've learnt Python) but I'd like to make well structured code instead of piecing together spaghetti from StackOverflow
I guess more than an introduction to the language, I need a book that would explain intricacies of it (like "does if(!x) catch only variables defined as false, or does it also catch null, 0 or uninitiated variables?", advanced OOP, "how do I not screw up text encoding if I want to make foreign-language friendly programs" etc. ) and most importantly good programming practices/style in general

No reply pill :feelsohgod:

C++ is just C with extra shit

That C++ isn't just C with extra shit
That's how I remember it, haven't used in couple of years

I remember it as being like C with shit like object oriented programming

Do a project or two in C++, its basically like C but with some java like features like objects.

use this site. I used this to learn c++. w3schools.com

I remember it as being like C with shit like object oriented programming
It can be used like that but that's not how modern C++ is used, and it's not all it is.

If you want I can help you, I did C++ at uni for about a year before I dropped out.