Issue with text-formatting

E

Ethnic Natsoc

Admiral
-
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
2,752
Sometimes I try to add formatting to a certain word and then it fucks up the entire text. So, for example, I select a certain word and try to make it bold and then it ends up making the entire thread bold.
 
RegisterUserName

RegisterUserName

Discord - Regi#5895
-
Joined
Sep 5, 2018
Messages
16,177
Incellectual

Incellectual

feminae stultae sunt | 5'3 goblin-manlet
-
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
8,480
Lux

Lux

Paradise Lost
-
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
2,469
Text formatting is simple, but why complain? Write is for profissional typographers, not kidding; bold, overrated and simply esquisite, you know? just try to ask them, bundy or WHATEVER, like the poster who was banned latter in the day; but forget what i wrote here, is nothing tbh, whatevER
 
WawelDragon1683

WawelDragon1683

Mythic
-
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
4,807
Free @Insomniac The forum feels empty without him.
 
RageAgainstTDL

RageAgainstTDL

‌Rage, Rage Against the Dying of the Light
-
Joined
Dec 15, 2017
Messages
7,078
Yes this is an issue. I was gonna make a post about it as well but I was procrastinating.

Say for example, in this post. I am typing this completely plain text. At the end, I will triple click to select this whole paragraph and bold it. Then everything after will become bold. You can see in the code in more complex situations (eg. with URLs) it is adding all sorts of extra formatting tags. It is hard to provoke sometimes but can be reliably provoked this way.

This paragraph should not be bold as I am not bolding it, but it will become bold because of the glitch. @SergeantIncel @Master
 
SergeantIncel

SergeantIncel

Admin
-
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,985
Yes this is an issue. I was gonna make a post about it as well but I was procrastinating.

Say for example, in this post. I am typing this completely plain text. At the end, I will triple click to select this whole paragraph and bold it. Then everything after will become bold. You can see in the code in more complex situations (eg. with URLs) it is adding all sorts of extra formatting tags. It is hard to provoke sometimes but can be reliably provoked this way.

This paragraph should not be bold as I am not bolding it, but it will become bold because of the glitch. @SergeantIncel @Master
This behavior got changed sometime during one of the forum upgrades, sadly it's out of my power to change it, or at least I have no idea where I could even start.
 
Master

Master

Mod
-
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
1,217
This behavior got changed sometime during one of the forum upgrades, sadly it's out of my power to change it, or at least I have no idea where I could even start.
I'll look into it.
 
RageAgainstTDL

RageAgainstTDL

‌Rage, Rage Against the Dying of the Light
-
Joined
Dec 15, 2017
Messages
7,078
This behavior got changed sometime during one of the forum upgrades, sadly it's out of my power to change it, or at least I have no idea where I could even start.
Oh. Found this:

https://xenforo.com/community/threads/firefox-editor-applies-formatting-not-only-to-selected-paragraph.167733/

Seems to be a Firefox related bug from what they're saying there. I am using Firefox so that fits. I'm not sure if any of the suggestions in that thread are relevant. Seems like they are aware of it anyway so might get fixed on next update.
 
E

Ethnic Natsoc

Admiral
-
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
2,752
Thanks for clarifying.
 
ScornedStoic

ScornedStoic

Cozycel
-
Joined
Apr 5, 2018
Messages
9,632
Not open for further replies.
 
MarriedAndLookin4Fun

MarriedAndLookin4Fun

Late stage LDAR
-
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
10,195
Not open for further replies.
 
Top